Avoid These 3 Mistakes When Presenting

Delivering a successful presentation requires preparation and practice. You need to gain the trust of your audience and convey your message clearly. Here are three mistakes you should avoid next time you’re preparing to stand up in front of a crowd:

  • Not knowing your audience. Long before you walk into the room, determine who your audience is and what they will do with the information you present.
  • Failing to grab your listeners’ attention. Give the audience a reason to care. Hook them by describing the problem you’re trying to solve, or use an anecdote or a counterintuitive fact.
  • Using unrelated visual aids. Just because a chart looks good doesn’t mean you need to include it. Your audience may be annoyed and possibly confused if your visual aids aren’t directly related to your message.

Source: Harvard Business Review – Management Tips of the Day

3 comments
  1. My developer is trying to convince me to move to .
    net from PHP. I have always disliked the idea because of the
    costs. But he’s tryiong none the less. I’ve been using WordPress on various websites for about a year
    and am anxious about switching to another platform.
    I have heard good things about blogengine.net. Is there a way I can
    import all my wordpress content into it? Any help would be greatly appreciated!

  2. Hello there, I discovered your site by means of Google
    even as looking for a comparable matter, your website came up, it appears great.
    I’ve bookmarked it in my google bookmarks.
    Hi there, simply was aware of your weblog thru Google, and located that it is truly informative. I’m going to watch out for brussels.

    I’ll appreciate in the event you continue this in future. A lot of folks shall be benefited out of your writing. Cheers!

  3. Hi! I realize this is kind of off-topic however I needed to ask.
    Does operating a well-established website like yours take a large amount of work?
    I’m completely new to running a blog but I do write in my diary on a daily basis.

    I’d like to start a blog so I can easily share my experience and feelings online.
    Please let me know if you have any ideas or tips
    for new aspiring blog owners. Appreciate it!

Leave a comment